Friday, January 23, 2015

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

categories: , ,
20911450Title: Seeker (Seeker, #1)
Author: Arwen Elys Dayton
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Publication date: February 10, 2015
Pages: 448
Rating: 3/5 stars 

Received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.  

Quin Kincaid has been put through years of brutal training for what she thinks is the noble purpose of becoming a revered ‘Seeker’.

Only when it’s too late does she discover she will be using her new-found knowledge and training to become an assassin. Quin's new role will take her around the globe, from a remote estate in Scotland to a bustling, futuristic Hong Kong where the past she thought she had escaped will finally catch up with her. 
Okay, lemme just get this out of the way first. We all need to stop saying things like, "for readers of A Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games" because it makes the book seem like it needs to live up to those titles. It will also make readers of said titles not want to read it because it said so itself that it's pretty much like those titles, when it's completely different

Seeker is about three friends, Quin, Shinobu, and John, who are training to become Seekers, skilled protectors of the world. They want this title because each of them have a family legacy to continue, and besides, being a badass protector of humankind sounds pretty cool. To become Seekers, they take an oath, only to find out that the "shining" legacy they've all dreamed of is actually twisted and shadowy.

I loved how this book started. It was action-packed and violent, setting the tone that this novel would take for the rest of the chapters, while allowing the reader to get personal with the characters. However, it took me a long time to get into the story. For a while, I enjoyed reading it only because of the beautiful writing. But most of the time, I went, "What? What's going on? Can someone explain to me why they're here?" Details were fed to me gradually, which can be good when done cleverly, but it ended up confusing me instead. 

If you read the blurb, it'll seem like this is all about Quin. It's not... which is a great thing. Even though the story seemed confusing at times, it made up for its strong characters. You get to put yourself in their shoes and feel what they feel, not only with Quin, Shinobu, and John, but also with other supporting characters -- even the antagonists. Every character is masterfully molded. They each have little things that make them stand out, and their backstories are interesting, as well.

As I've said, the writing is beautiful. Scenes are perfectly drawn with vivid descriptions that match the story's tone. Action scenes are the best because the author uses a wide range of ways to narrate them. As a writer, I am intrigued by her writing and I want to study it. 

Sometimes, it had the tendency to drag, which pulled me away from reading. It was not a page-turner, but it can't be classified as DNF, either. I think most of the draginess came from its length. The novel was far too long when it tackled only so little.

On a positive note, the story is unique, which is why I'm against it being compared to The Hunger Games and A Game of Thrones. Not once did I feel like I was reading something like those books.It's a story about family and power. It shows the issues that arise when the two are combined, with a dash of fantasy at the side to make things more interesting.  Be warned though that it's quite violent, and if you'd rather focus on story than action, maybe Seeker just isn't for you. But if you're into character-driven stories, you will definitely enjoy this. 

Overall, Seeker provides the reader with a colorful new world that gets more intriguing with every turn. It is a good novel, just a bit shaky, so I can't give it five stars. Nonetheless, it gets exciting, so read on.


  1. I also don't like it when the blurb compares the book to other of more popular books. It just increase my expectations and I always end up disappointed. I am interested to read this book though because the story is intriguing. But if it's as draggy as it is long then I might have to lower down my expectations before reading it so I won't end up crushed. :)
    UnderCover Critique

    1. Hi Azee! It is a bit draggy, but I think it's still alright. Thanks for stopping by! x Gail

  2. Hi Gail, I've been following your blog since the Follow and Feature last week and I want to let you know I love it! I love your layout so much! I nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award tag that's going around.

    Here's the link if you want to check it out. If you don't want to participate, no worries!

    Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award Nomination

    1. Hi Jennifer! Aww, thanks so much! I can't wait to answer your questions. x Gail